Author Topic: [GUiDE] Supa's Noob Guide to Litecoin P2Pool Mining (Windows) UPDATED 20/02/2013  (Read 46335 times)

Offline bitwish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Noob question hope you guys can help me out. I just setup Litecoin client with P2Pool. Its been running now for about 18hrs and I still have yet to receive any transactions on my client. Is this normal? I am currently running at 10mH/s. Thanks guys!

Offline Madstudios30620

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Ive mined bitcoins before, so I can almost claim to know what Im doing. Since I have no super GPU my bitcoin
rewards have been tiny, so I am looking forward to giving litecoin a try.

Is there any way to spend litecoin? What is the relationship to BitCoin?

Can I use my GUIminer bitcoin miner for litecoins?

Ive got your excellant installation guide and 3 files downloaded to install. Wish me luck!!!
Attached is a picture of my latest bitcoin mining attempt.

Offline K9us

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
7 1/2. Exit and Re-Open your Litecoin client for the litecoin.conf to enable

Cannot get past this step. When starting the Litecoin client (0.6.3c) I get the following error: An error occured while setting up the RPC port 9332 for listening: open: An address incompatible with the requested protocol was used

Any ideas?

Offline shyliar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
9332 isn't that a bitcoin port?

Does your litecoin.conf file look like this:

   
rpcuser=user
rpcpassword=password
server=1


or have you added additional configuration parameters?
Please support the Litecoin Dev team here https://litecointalk.org/index.php/topic,3874.0.html

Offline Madstudios30620

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Cannot get past this step. When starting the Litecoin client (0.6.3c) I get the following error: An error occured while setting up the RPC port 9332 for listening: open: An address incompatible with the requested protocol was used

Any ideas?
Check your firewall and router maybe...try Gibson research shields up and see if that makes your ports any better understood.

Offline K9us

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Does your litecoin.conf file look like this:
   
rpcuser=user
rpcpassword=password
server=1

or have you added additional configuration parameters?

It looks exactly like that. No other parameters.

Check your firewall and router maybe...try Gibson research shields up and see if that makes your ports any better understood.

Same error message. I've deactivated the software firewall and opened port 9332 for incoming TCP traffic in the hardware firewall. Confirmed with Sheilds up.
Supa's guide doesn't mention anything about firewalls (at least not in the first 7 steps, I haven't read it all in detail since I got stuck on this step). Is it necessary to open up ports, and which ones?
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 11:50:44 AM by K9us »

Offline shyliar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
Don't know if this will help; but, someone with a similar problem and how it was solved.

http://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,998.15.html
Please support the Litecoin Dev team here https://litecointalk.org/index.php/topic,3874.0.html

Offline Supa

  • Scammer
  • Jr. Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 64
    • ~The Supa Fii Network~
It looks exactly like that. No other parameters.

Same error message. I've deactivated the software firewall and opened port 9332 for incoming TCP traffic in the hardware firewall. Confirmed with Sheilds up.
Supa's guide doesn't mention anything about firewalls (at least not in the first 7 steps, I haven't read it all in detail since I got stuck on this step). Is it necessary to open up ports, and which ones?

8332 is the default Bitcoin Port
9332 is the default Litecoin Port

Yes you need to forward/open port 9332 for litecoin

If you are on XP you need to install ipv6 to do this open a command prompt and type "c:\ netsh interface ipv6 install" without the quotes
« Last Edit: March 30, 2013, 01:01:37 PM by Supa »

Offline Supa

  • Scammer
  • Jr. Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 64
    • ~The Supa Fii Network~
HI can i just say thank you for this guide but i am still getting problems.

my litecoin client opens (with this config)

rpcuser=username
rpcpassword=password
rpcport=10333
port=10332
server=1

i open ScryptMiner GUI with the folllowing

http://127.0.0.1
username
password
10332

but the miner does not do anything other than say Miner started. it usually takes a minute until the program starts

i am not sure what to do with p2pool, on the guide it does not mention anywhere how you start it, i tried the shortcut we made in the guide and it just opens and closes really fast. i screen shot the CMD window and attached it. i blank out that password if it was important or something just looks like a bit coin address.

i am using 64 bit windows 8 :(

You are mining on the wrong port try 9327 like the guide says

Port 10332 is just for litecoin rpcserver so it doesn't conflict with your bitcoin one if you happen to mine both at once

Offline jamwerd16

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
So i am using Scryptminer GUI, and just experimenting with it.  I'm still quite newbish at this.
How do I set up the, automine launch command for the Scryptminer GUI?
Basically, i want the Scryptminer to launch on computer start up and just start mining automatically, without me having to worry about it.
I'm sorry if I left out any important information.   :-[

Offline TheUniporn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Hello everybody!
I'm new at this kind of things and I'm trying to configure p2pool with cgminer and I have ran into a dead end. I post here only after I searched everything I could so you guys are my last hope.

When I mine with minerd with the CPU (fx8350) it looks like this

but when I mine with the GPU (hd5850) I get this

the local H/s is very low and often I see a lot of errors like they are better shown here http://imgur.com/JvOYG1w

I have in litecoin.conf:
rpcuser=user
rpcpassword=password
server=1
================
un_p2pool.exe" --net litecoin user password
================
minerd.exe" --threads 8 --scantime 2 --url http://127.0.0.1:9327/ --userpass user:password
================
cgminer --scrypt -o http://127.0.0.1:9327 -u user -p password --shaders 1440 --intensity 17 --worksize 256 -g 1

Please help!
« Last Edit: April 01, 2013, 11:47:03 PM by TheUniporn »

Offline cliton09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Good post mate, Ive got over 300 litecoin and counting!

Offline Decaying Dasheen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Is P2Pool mining more efficient than standard pools? Or is only to decentralize pool information?
I'm just a poor boy nobody loves me.
BTC: 1AW6uw8dtLHNCPWmG1sWmALifeJeBbdyTZ
LTC: Lgw27FMskbkoEh3VrnBSQnrDAaN4SPP1vV
:

Offline esox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Ok, I have everything set up and it's all working fine. My CPU is being killed 99% usage. Is this ok for long periods of time?

Also, how long till I get a Litecoin?

I see this message:
Quote
accepted: 2429/2659 (91.35%), 19.92 khash/s (yay!!!)

When it gets to 100% does magic happen??

Also, i thought this was supposed to use a lot of GPU power instead of CPU but I don't hear my Video Card running or anything.

Offline microxp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Thanks a lot,it works fine!
but i have an additional question
If i have 3 computers,can i run P2Pool as a server?
I mean i run P2Pool and litecoin client on the same PC,the IP address is 192.168.2.1
on other 2 PCs,i only runs the CGMiner like "minerd.exe -o http://192.168.2.1:9327 -u user -p password"
all these computers are in the same LAN.

i have tried this,the CGMiner can connect to the P2Pool,but  there are some warnings in the P2Pool terminal.
IT seems the P2Pool can only accept 1 connection of miners at the same time?
« Last Edit: April 04, 2013, 06:49:35 AM by microxp »