Author Topic: BEST COMPUTER TO PURCHASE FOR MINING LITECOIN + OTHER ALTERNATIVE CRYPTOCURRENCY  (Read 11918 times)

Offline CollegeMiner

I'm looking to purchase a cheap computer and replace the graphics card with a relatively powerful Radeon model. I don't know how to build a computer from parts so that's out of the question.

Does anyone have suggestions for cheap computer models I can purchase? Suggestions for efficient graphics cards would be great too. I've tentatively settled on the Radeon 7950 but I'm still learning about this whole process.

Thanks in advance.

Offline ltcflux

Your best bet is to look into Bitcoin rigs and how they are built along with the software used to mine (if that's what you're interested in doing).

If you don't understand Mining it's not a bad idea to just buy litecoins from BTC-e and store them in your wallet and consider that the investment you're making.
http://ltcflux.wordpress.com/
LTC: LMbw3YFfayVpE2r3SrEAaq2EtFfSonjNAn
BTC: 18R787hw3i8vngdfMpQ9Kwtv68iiVRXgLv

Offline CollegeMiner

I think you're right actually. I should learn how to build a rig so I can actually understand what I'm doing better. I have a follow-up question, then. Do you know if the majority of cryptocurrencies are mined by GPU? I want to have the potential to mine more than Litecoins, and if some currencies are best mined with CPU I should take that into consideration before purchasing parts.

Offline cronusblade

Every currency is best mined with a GPU (disregarding things like ASICs). More specifically AMD ones, though NVIDIA cards still perform leagues better in mining than a CPU.
LTC: Li3uXmsDDG7ddhP9sFpNSPz76BcLvfgi1k

Offline CollegeMiner

Thanks for responding. Is there a generic rig I could put together for around $500-600 with a high quality Radeon graphics card?

Offline ltcflux

Focus on the GPU above all else. With that said, a good 7870 or 7950 will cost you $250-350.

Offline CollegeMiner