Author Topic: Pics of your mining RIG :D  (Read 108301 times)

Offline p00chie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #165 on: June 01, 2013, 09:46:18 PM »
I've had my farm going stable for a month now in a friend's shed where I just pay him for electricity and a minimal amount per month for the inconvenience :

http://i.imgur.com/eJoMqHu.jpg

14x boxes running Ubuntu & cgminer
2x 7950 (mainly Gigabyte, some Sapphire) GPUs per box (28 7950's in total)
4GB RAM
AMD A6-5400K CPU
ASRock FA2A85X-Extreme6 Mobo
Antec HCG-900 PSU
mix of spare 2.5" HDDs from old laptops I had lying around

Generates ~17,000kh/s
Uses ~7.5kW of electricity (I pay 24.5c/kWh - lol Australia)

It's pretty much set and forget now. The power went out once and I had to drive up there and power cycle half of them (if they all auto-power on at once, it blows the 3-phase circuit), but that's about it.

When I implemented the farm, the price of LTC was hovering around $3.80-$4.00 and difficulty was around 400. Now it's closer to 600 and price is under $3. So that's a bit of a bummer, but it's still profitable once electricity is counted for, so I'm hoping the value of LTC goes up.

i also pay $0.24 im living in Brazil.

i am countering that!
paying around 0,25€ per kWh thats around 0,32$
most expensive energy here in germany.
good thing is sometimes you can rent an office with energy costs included :)

Offline Ddos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #166 on: June 01, 2013, 10:50:24 PM »
I've had my farm going stable for a month now in a friend's shed where I just pay him for electricity and a minimal amount per month for the inconvenience :

http://i.imgur.com/eJoMqHu.jpg

14x boxes running Ubuntu & cgminer
2x 7950 (mainly Gigabyte, some Sapphire) GPUs per box (28 7950's in total)
4GB RAM
AMD A6-5400K CPU
ASRock FA2A85X-Extreme6 Mobo
Antec HCG-900 PSU
mix of spare 2.5" HDDs from old laptops I had lying around

Generates ~17,000kh/s
Uses ~7.5kW of electricity (I pay 24.5c/kWh - lol Australia)

It's pretty much set and forget now. The power went out once and I had to drive up there and power cycle half of them (if they all auto-power on at once, it blows the 3-phase circuit), but that's about it.

When I implemented the farm, the price of LTC was hovering around $3.80-$4.00 and difficulty was around 400. Now it's closer to 600 and price is under $3. So that's a bit of a bummer, but it's still profitable once electricity is counted for, so I'm hoping the value of LTC goes up.

i also pay $0.24 im living in Brazil.

i am countering that!
paying around 0,25€ per kWh thats around 0,32$
most expensive energy here in germany.
good thing is sometimes you can rent an office with energy costs included :)


dafuq are you minning?

Offline snootch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #167 on: June 05, 2013, 10:41:46 AM »
Here’s my rig:
 
4 x MSI R7950 Twin Frozr III cards
 
Seasonic 1000W Platinum PSU
 
ASROCK 970 Extreme4 ATX Motherboard
 
1 x PCI-e x1 to x1 powered riser
 
3 x PCI-e x16 to x16 unpowered risers
 
4GB DDR3 RAM
 
120GB 2.5” HDD
 
AMD AM3+ Temash single-core CPU
 
Tubular square steel open chassis
 
Plexiglas baseplate
 
Windows 7 x64 Professional
 
CGMiner, VNC & Afterburner
 
 
 
Mines WDC or LTC @ 2.3MH/s pulling 850-900 watts from the wall
 
Total cost: about $1800-$1850

One of these days, (probably after ROI) i'll swap the PSU out for a 1200W unit and add another card. I should have bought a 1200 from the start.









« Last Edit: June 05, 2013, 01:43:28 PM by snootch »

Offline Mr. Jinx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #168 on: June 05, 2013, 12:15:36 PM »
Very neat setup, snootch! These rigs are looking more and more beautiful 8)
What temps are the cards running? If put them that close, I have serious heat problems (the GPU's I mean).
Hosting supernode.litecoiners.nl and electrum.litecoiners.nl

Offline snootch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #169 on: June 05, 2013, 01:41:51 PM »
Very neat setup, snootch! These rigs are looking more and more beautiful 8)
What temps are the cards running? If put them that close, I have serious heat problems (the GPU's I mean).

Thanks for the kind words. After seeing lots of rigs with spaghetti running all over the place, I wanted to build something neat and self-contained so I could move it around. As I move alot for work, that was a major concern. My target temp is set to 80c, so the cards run at 78-79 all the time, and the fans arent loud at all. CGminer screenshot:



Mining Worldcoin, I have to turn down the hashrate a bit, as I tend to get 10%-20% rejects when running 600+ KH/s.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2013, 01:47:27 PM by snootch »

Offline slvrcrz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Mining LTC 24/7 :)
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #170 on: June 06, 2013, 05:32:03 PM »
hey man verry very nice setup !!
why are you mining world coin if i may know :D
Donations for college
LTC : LLgyDxvxyVa8fCbMASkxSip7kr3Cm2LKZ6
BTC : 1AK2wJjRpMvWCPdDay9KBMmiT1cLmhgtXn

thanks

Offline worldlybedouin

  • Elite Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1345
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #171 on: June 06, 2013, 06:29:55 PM »
Wow! That's one elegant setup Snootch! 

Would love to build a square tube frame like yours...I can get my hands on the square tubing, but the question is where do you get the corner "connector" things??

Offline litecoinguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #172 on: June 07, 2013, 07:23:10 AM »
i g0t lots of these

very simple, cheap and most important, effective.

gg


Offline kentt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 106
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #173 on: June 07, 2013, 05:30:43 PM »
How do you guys make those awesome metal frames?  I looked around the hardware store for a bit but I didn't see anything.

Offline worldlybedouin

  • Elite Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1345
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #174 on: June 07, 2013, 05:45:47 PM »
How do you guys make those awesome metal frames?  I looked around the hardware store for a bit but I didn't see anything.

Ok, so it seems you and I have been on the same quest...here's what I've figured out...hope it helps you...

Found a site which sells what I think would be the raw materials to make a metal frame like snootch did in one of the earlier posts on this thread:  http://www.brunnerent.com.  These guys aren't too far away from where I live so hopefully shipping costs won't be too crazy.

Anyways, they carry the following items of particular interest:

3/4" Square Tubing:  http://www.brunnerent.com/Tools/Portfolio/frontend/item.asp?type=6&size=0&lngDisplay=0&jPageNumber=10&strMetaTag=

Various 3/4" Connectors:  http://www.brunnerent.com/Tools/Portfolio/frontend/itemlist.asp?type=2&size=0&lngDisplay=2&strMetaTag

As for the acrylic/plexiglass/plastic bottom panel, I can get one at the local Home Depot...same goes for other little odd-and-ends (screws, zip ties, etc.)

I've got no affiliation with the above website, never bought stuff from them, so as usual, buyer be aware.



Offline chill24

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #175 on: June 07, 2013, 09:06:37 PM »
Here’s my rig:
 
4 x MSI R7950 Twin Frozr III cards
 
Seasonic 1000W Platinum PSU
 
ASROCK 970 Extreme4 ATX Motherboard
 
1 x PCI-e x1 to x1 powered riser
 
3 x PCI-e x16 to x16 unpowered risers
 
4GB DDR3 RAM
 
120GB 2.5” HDD
 
AMD AM3+ Temash single-core CPU
 
Tubular square steel open chassis
 
Plexiglas baseplate
 
Windows 7 x64 Professional
 
CGMiner, VNC & Afterburner
 
 
 
Mines WDC or LTC @ 2.3MH/s pulling 850-900 watts from the wall
 
Total cost: about $1800-$1850

One of these days, (probably after ROI) i'll swap the PSU out for a 1200W unit and add another card. I should have bought a 1200 from the start.












Very nice!! How are you pulling that low power? Stock clocks and undervolted?

Offline snootch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #176 on: June 08, 2013, 12:43:04 PM »
Hi, The tubing/connectors I used were from here: http://www.richardsonsuk.co.uk/product.aspx?p=47 being that I live in the UK. I got the black steel tubing. If you live in the states, you can find 1" square aluminum and connectors from here: http://www.brunnerent.com/Tools/Portfolio/frontend/item.asp?type=6&size=0&lngDisplay=0&jPageNumber=11&strMetaTag=

On a different note, I found a guy that builds open rig frames for about what I spent on parts here: http://richchomiczewski.wordpress.com/home/trays/ Look for the "Large ATX tray".

hey man verry very nice setup !!
why are you mining world coin if i may know :D

It makes more sense IMHO to mine wdc than ltc right now, as I cam mine 720WDC in a day, and 3.7 LTC in a day. 720WDC=.0972BTC and 3.7LTC=.0854BTC/day. I like WDC because it's better for quick transactions, and therefore may be popular (higher price) in the future. ATM it makes more sense to mine WDC. If/when things change, i'll go back to LTC.


Very nice!! How are you pulling that low power? Stock clocks and undervolted?

EDIT: I think I have it dialed in now. Here's my CGminer config:

Code: [Select]
timeout /t 30
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --scrypt -I 18 -g 1 -w 256 --thread-concurrency 21712 --gpu-engine 1050 --gpu-memclock 1400 --gpu-vddc 1.085 --temp-target 80 --auto-fan



currently mining WDC @ 2.364 KH/s and pulling 930 watts from the wall as per my kill-a-watt. Rejects are at 3.6% which I think are pretty good. WDC seems to be more sensitive to overclocking... I can push this rig to 2.5Mh/s with less rejects on LTC. If I did that with WDC, I would be seeing 15-20% rejects.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2013, 09:12:56 AM by snootch »

Offline neogold

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #177 on: June 09, 2013, 03:12:31 AM »


Offline Ddos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #178 on: June 09, 2013, 09:46:07 PM »
i g0t lots of these

very simple, cheap and most important, effective.

gg



I have this psu with 4 gigabye 7950 @ 1,090v all system 1100-1150 is there any problem? you have 5 :S

Offline sololoop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Pics of your mining RIG :D
« Reply #179 on: June 13, 2013, 08:11:58 AM »
Started mining few month ago , herewith is my miner evolution :


Tester Rig


Miner v 1.0


small rigs Farm v 1.0  (Hot....)

small rigs Farm v 1.0  (Night version)


small rigs Farm V 2.0 (added cooler fans < 70°C)


Learned many things on those setup (Hardware, overclock , air flow..etc) and it is fun