Author Topic: FINALLY Sapphire Vapor-X 7970 GHz 700+ kh/s on stock clock settings!! PROOF HERE  (Read 34274 times)

Offline wugubob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Hi all,

I purchased the Sapphire Vapor-X 7970 GHz OC 3 GB about a week ago and was totally dismayed and disgusted when all I could get was ~540 kh/s max litecoin mining despite many different settings and found that many others were in the same boat.  After I read Sync's quote of the thread about a guy flashing the Vapor-X BIOS to the Gigabyte one and getting 630 kh/s, I figured I'd be a guinea pig.

It seemed kind of strange to me to flash a Sapphire card with a Gigabyte BIOS and after I did it, the card *DID NOT* boot for me.  Luckily, the Vapor-X has a button to switch between two onboard BIOSes (which seem identical on the Vapor-X), so you can recover.  If you have an onboard VGA, you can also recover/flash from that instead to be safe.

The next step was to try the Sapphire Dual-X 7970 BIOS and that was the golden ticket!  All you need to is download the Dual-X BIOS and flash your Vapor-X with it (follow instructions on how to flash the BIOS from the previous link).   I used this BIOS version:

http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/129658/Sapphire.HD7970.3072.120926.html

After you restart, the default speeds are 950/1425 so I'd say since you bought the Vapor-X, it is totally safe to use AMD Overdrive to bring back the speed of the card to 1050/1500 stock. 

Here's the CGMINER settings I am using to obtain 700+ kh/s total stock Vapor-X speeds.  I did not try to optimize/overclock.  You can if you really want:

-g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --worksize 256 -I 13

Here's the proof and happily mining Litecoins at 700+ kh/s now:


bob

INSTRUCTIONS:
1. Download this Sapphire Video card bios:  http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/129658/Sapphire.HD7970.3072.120926.html
2. Download the ATI flash utility:  http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2230/ATIFlash_4.07.html
3. Create a bootable USB stick using this utility: http://rufus.akeo.ie/
4. Copy the BIOS and flash utility to the bootable USB stick.
5. Reboot from the USB stick.  DOS type command prompt will show up.
6. Run "atiflash.exe -i" which will show you the device IDs of your cards.
7. To start rewriting the BIOS, run "atiflash.exe -f -p 0 new.rom" where you replace "0" with the 7970 card device ID if different. "new.rom" is the filename of the BIOS you downloaded.
8. When it says successful, reboot.

If you found this helpful, LTC donations gladly accepted at LhJd2L6A7hmYucxyeKHKYgkzdLDLyoAHUE 

Disclaimer:  While everything seems to work fine with my computer, know that you are doing something at your own risk. 
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 04:33:21 PM by wugubob »
LTC: LhJd2L6A7hmYucxyeKHKYgkzdLDLyoAHUE

Offline p4xil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 130
looks great but please post the screenshot of cgminer after 24 hours of using this BIOS and clocks.
And before you make the screenshot press G on cgminer so that your GPU settings will be seen.
Thanks!
Simple cgminer remote monitoring script
Optimizing guide for Gigabyte 7950

[BTC] : 1DpLqw6dB2bo5zX9YRYC4AjyMhuPADn8he
[LTC] : LVs3WjD3KfZQ2xniqqqkG2j4Fwetzybpxb

Offline wugubob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
looks great but please post the screenshot of cgminer after 24 hours of using this BIOS and clocks.
And before you make the screenshot press G on cgminer so that your GPU settings will be seen.
Thanks!

I will post an updated pic tomorrow after a day of mining.  It's been running about 2 hours now with me using the computer desktop also.  Averaging 718 kh/s.  Temp is typical 77 degrees for me (I live in hot state and computer is just room temp).  Auto fan control is at 84%.

Also, AMD overdrive powercontrol is default 0.

bob
LTC: LhJd2L6A7hmYucxyeKHKYgkzdLDLyoAHUE

Offline qqriice

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
I'm going to try flashing bios on my Powercolor 7970 tonight  ::) getting sick of only 590Kh/s

Offline wugubob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Update.  Ran for 5 hours no problems and then it stopped but not sure what happened as screen went blank.  Rebooted no problems.  Then I thought well, I put the clock/mem rate back to Vapor-X stock but didn't change voltage which stayed at the default BIOS 1200 for the lower 950 clock speed.

This time, I started Trixx and adjusted the voltage to 1256 which is stock Vapor-X.  Restarting again for new stability run at 1050/1500/1256.

bob
LTC: LhJd2L6A7hmYucxyeKHKYgkzdLDLyoAHUE

Offline Tjb433

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
I can CONFIRM that this does in fact work. I purchased 2 Vapor-x Ghz 7970's and was very displeased with only hitting 550Kh/s, 590 with extreme memory overclocking. I am now running 720Kh/s on one card and 680Kh/s on the second at stock Vapor-x clocks and volts with the above bios flash. (Expect 700+ on both with some tweaking! ) Thank you greatly for being the guinea pig. (A Donation is on its way)

Offline wugubob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
I can CONFIRM that this does in fact work. I purchased 2 Vapor-x Ghz 7970's and was very displeased with only hitting 550Kh/s, 590 with extreme memory overclocking. I am now running 720Kh/s on one card and 680Kh/s on the second at stock Vapor-x clocks and volts with the above bios flash. (Expect 700+ on both with some tweaking! ) Thank you greatly for being the guinea pig. (A Donation is on its way)

Tjb433, thank you for the donation.  The Vapor-X seems to run a few degrees cooler and get an added boost of kh/s if you don't run it as your primary video display.  I have another ATI GPU on the system and using that instead is now giving me an average of 738 kh/s!

bob
LTC: LhJd2L6A7hmYucxyeKHKYgkzdLDLyoAHUE

Offline Shadowfury957

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
I could not figure out how to flash the BIOS. Could someone give a detailed straightforward guide on how to do this? Which version of atiflash? etc. (specifically couldn't get atiflash to boot DOS from USB)

Offline sync

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Hello,

EDIT : I flashed the bios, It is now a 7000 series with msi afterburner and with this command
Quote
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://ltc.ouranos.fr:9337/ -u xxx -p xxx --thread-concurrency 8192 -I 13 -w 256 -g 2 --no-submit-stale

I have 619Kh/s with memclock : 1500Mhz and gpuclock: 1050Mhz and cgminer 3.0.1

Thank you I choose the sapphire bios.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 12:47:34 PM by sync »

Offline Turok

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
what card exactly is that?
SAPPHIRE HD 7970 VAPOR-X GHZ Edition or SAPPHIRE HD 7970 VAPOR-X OC ? thanks

Offline s5unty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
looks great but please post the screenshot of cgminer after 24 hours of using this BIOS and clocks.
And before you make the screenshot press G on cgminer so that your GPU settings will be seen.
Thanks!

+1

Offline Tjb433

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Turok, mine are Vapor-x GHZ flashed with the bios listed in OP.

 I'll post a screenie tonight after mining all day so long as everything is fine, and can work up a slightly more detailed explanation of how I flashed the bios of both cards. I have a little more tweaking to do to try and reduce temps/get a bit more performance, but right now my pool says I'm getting 1400kh/s with both cards after running all night.

Offline sync

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Quote
what card exactly is that?
I have SAPPHIRE HD 7970 VAPOR-X GHZ Edition, I flashed with this bios http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/129658/Sapphire.HD7970.3072.120926.html

Can you tell me if HW:43 is a lot for 2 hours running ?
Quote
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o xxx -u xxx -p xxx  --thread-concurrency 8128 -I 13 -w 256 -g 2 --no-submit-stale

Thank you
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 03:42:49 PM by sync »

Offline wugubob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
I could not figure out how to flash the BIOS. Could someone give a detailed straightforward guide on how to do this? Which version of atiflash? etc. (specifically couldn't get atiflash to boot DOS from USB)

Updated top of thread post with these instructions:

1. Download this Sapphire Video card bios:  http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/129658/Sapphire.HD7970.3072.120926.html
2. Download the ATI flash utility:  http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2230/ATIFlash_4.07.html
3. Create a bootable USB stick using this utility: http://rufus.akeo.ie/
4. Copy the BIOS and flash utility to the bootable USB stick.
5. Reboot from the USB stick.  DOS type command prompt will show up.
6. Run "atiflash.exe -i" which will show you the device IDs of your cards.
7. To start rewriting the BIOS, run "atiflash.exe -f -p 0 new.rom" where you replace "0" with the 7970 card device ID if different. "new.rom" is the filename of the BIOS you downloaded.
8. When it says successful, reboot.

bob
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 04:20:44 PM by wugubob »
LTC: LhJd2L6A7hmYucxyeKHKYgkzdLDLyoAHUE

Offline wugubob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Quote
what card exactly is that?
I have SAPPHIRE HD 7970 VAPOR-X GHZ Edition, I flashed with this bios http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/129658/Sapphire.HD7970.3072.120926.html

Can you tell me if HW:43 is a lot for 2 hours running ?
Quote
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o xxx -u xxx -p xxx  --thread-concurrency 8128 -I 13 -w 256 -g 2 --no-submit-stale

Thank you

That sounds high.  Did you adjust your voltage to 1256 using Trixx?  I've been running over 12 hrs now and have no HW errors.

bob
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 04:28:16 PM by wugubob »
LTC: LhJd2L6A7hmYucxyeKHKYgkzdLDLyoAHUE