Author Topic: Important: p2pool LTC miner recommendation  (Read 9668 times)

Offline warren

• Litecoin Dev Team
  • Linux Software Engineer
Important: p2pool LTC miner recommendation
« on: May 28, 2013, 12:40:24 PM »
Update: p2pool-13 has made it possible for miners as small as 1MH to mine with p2pool.  If you are a smaller miner you are still recommended to mine elsewhere as you will be frustrated by the high difficulty and variance of shares.

Hi folks,

TLDR - if you are a small miner below 3MH/s you probably want to switch to a normal pool.

If you are a "big" p2pool miner with ~2MH/s or more you probably don't need to concern yourself with this.  Otherwise small p2pool miners need to read this important message.  As you can see from the official fundraising thread, I am the lead developer on Litecoin-0.8.2.  I am also a p2pool developer.  Two months ago I fixed a serious problem in p2pool's scrypt stratum that was previously causing p2pool LTC to lose some work.  So it suffices to say I know a lot about Litecoin and p2pool.

Problem with p2pool for small LTC Miners
http://ltc.block-explorer.com/block/f969ae9e8e5eaf5563c0a07ca3fc5d7ea3b49192179136e2b9793a58836e157b
Here is a typical p2pool LTC block where there are often 500-600 payouts.  This is fine for the bigger miners who receive like 0.1 LTC per block, but it becomes increasingly problematic for the smaller miners as payout amounts per block become tinier and tinier.  As many of you know, spending the tiny p2pool dust can be very expensive in fees, or annoyingly time consuming if you use the free tx combining method.

Bigger chunks, paid less frequently?