Author Topic: R9 290 scrypt mining performance  (Read 156995 times)

Offline shallowgas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #120 on: November 29, 2013, 01:00:21 AM »
Hi Noflyzone,

I have been mining for several months but with the recent price increase, time for an upgrade  :D
Please post up your settings and hashrates once you get them plugged in.
I'm looking at this card as well.

Also can you post the GPU-Z firmware ID numbers?

Have any of the other companies changed the R9 290 firmware yet?
I've been stung by this before.
Firmware changes can really screw up the hash rate.

I have the choice of the following (they are priced in Aussie Dollars)

Gigabyte Radeon R9 290 Graphics Card - GV-R929D5-4GD-B, 4GB GDDR5, 947 MHz, PCI-E 3.0 x 16, 2 x DVI, 1 x HDMI, 1 x DisplayPort,
MSI Radeon R9 290 Graphics Card - R9290-4GD5, 4GB GDDR5, 947 MHz, PCI-E 3.0 x 16, 2 x DVI, 1 x HDMI, 1 x DisplayPort,
Asus Radeon R9 290 Graphics Card - R9290-4GD5-ASUS, 4GB GDDR5, 947 MHz, PCI-E 3.0 x 16, 2 x DVI, 1 x HDMI, 1 x DisplayPort,
http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=25630&cPath=877&utm_source=googlebase&utm_medium=cse&utm_campaign=export_feed#googlebase

The Asus is $520 but wouldn't need to be bios flashed for voltage control, the Sapphire is $479.

I am wary of the Gigabyte card from their previous reputation but looks like TriOx managed to get good hash rates out of the box.

Comments / CGMiner settings / hashrates anyone?
I would like to get at least 850Kh/s per card.
Thanks
« Last Edit: November 29, 2013, 02:47:51 AM by shallowgas »

Offline spitfire1945

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #121 on: November 29, 2013, 04:46:43 AM »
Has anyone here tried to put 4 R9 290 on an AM3+ motherboard? Particularly Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7? I am too scared to open the packaging. If I need to switch to a different chipset I will.

Offline fearisfearless

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #122 on: November 29, 2013, 06:45:54 AM »
Has anyone here tried to put 4 R9 290 on an AM3+ motherboard? Particularly Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7? I am too scared to open the packaging. If I need to switch to a different chipset I will.

Why would you be worried about running 4 cards on that mobo?  I am running 3 on this one. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131795  I do not see you having any issues
LTC
LcCCpMvGurTT7qvpRKvM4msDR6pyTCQJMP
BTC
15cSwhFmDTmpWM6nVCw12dLf4VZSmktevv
Doge
DSc194AepKAr5BtuDgZnoabLdYyUS8PoxC

Offline spitfire1945

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #123 on: November 29, 2013, 07:17:10 AM »
Has anyone here tried to put 4 R9 290 on an AM3+ motherboard? Particularly Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7? I am too scared to open the packaging. If I need to switch to a different chipset I will.

Why would you be worried about running 4 cards on that mobo?  I am running 3 on this one. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131795  I do not see you having any issues

I don't know some guy told me that AM3+ doesn't have the bandwidth to run the 4 x r9 290s. They will run in the following configuration x8 x8 x4 x1. So I got really confused. I actually really want to run 6 cards on that motherboard each at 825 KH/s think it's possible with powered riser cables and a 1600w PSU?

Offline fearisfearless

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #124 on: November 29, 2013, 07:28:34 AM »
Has anyone here tried to put 4 R9 290 on an AM3+ motherboard? Particularly Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7? I am too scared to open the packaging. If I need to switch to a different chipset I will.

Why would you be worried about running 4 cards on that mobo?  I am running 3 on this one. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131795  I do not see you having any issues

I don't know some guy told me that AM3+ doesn't have the bandwidth to run the 4 x r9 290s. They will run in the following configuration x8 x8 x4 x1. So I got really confused. I actually really want to run 6 cards on that motherboard each at 825 KH/s think it's possible with powered riser cables and a 1600w PSU?

Unless someone else says differently, I do not see you having any issues with the 4 x R9 290 setup on that mobo.  What I can tell you is that you will not run 6 cards on a 1600 PSU.  All stock, no undervolting, or whatever they call it and I am pulling 360 - 370 W per card on my R9 290s.  You are going to need 2160 - 2220W for that setup.
LTC
LcCCpMvGurTT7qvpRKvM4msDR6pyTCQJMP
BTC
15cSwhFmDTmpWM6nVCw12dLf4VZSmktevv
Doge
DSc194AepKAr5BtuDgZnoabLdYyUS8PoxC

Offline spitfire1945

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #125 on: November 29, 2013, 08:05:53 AM »
@fearisfearless what kind of speeds are you getting with your r9 290s? Thanks.

Offline fearisfearless

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #126 on: November 29, 2013, 08:28:15 AM »
@fearisfearless what kind of speeds are you getting with your r9 290s? Thanks.

Right now I have 1 in my main PC and the other 2 in my rig until I get my 1200W PSU.  I have a 1000W but can't run all 3 on there.  I am doing around 811 - 818Kh/s per card

[ltc] LcCCpMvGurTT7qvpRKvM4msDR6pyTCQJMP
« Last Edit: November 29, 2013, 08:32:43 AM by fearisfearless »
LTC
LcCCpMvGurTT7qvpRKvM4msDR6pyTCQJMP
BTC
15cSwhFmDTmpWM6nVCw12dLf4VZSmktevv
Doge
DSc194AepKAr5BtuDgZnoabLdYyUS8PoxC

Offline TremorAcePV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #127 on: November 29, 2013, 08:46:09 AM »
Just thought I'd throw my info out there for newcomers to use since I had such a hard time finding info for this myself.

I own an R9 290X which I primarily bought for gaming purposes, but wished to use as an LTC miner in between gaming sessions. It is reference (aka, loud cooler). I'm using cgminer 3.7.2 on Windows 8.1.

These are my cgminer settings:

Code: [Select]
{
"pools" : [
        {
                "url" : "stratum+tcp://global.wemineltc.com:3334",
                "user" : "worker.1",
                "pass" : "worker.password"
        }
],
 
"intensity" : "20",
"vectors" : "1",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"gpu-engine" : "950",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85",
"auto-fan" : true,
"gpu-memclock" : "1500",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"scrypt" : true,
"api-listen" : true,
"thread-concurrency" : "30192",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"worksize" : "512",
 
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

I get 750-780KH/s on average with that setup with my temp staying around 75C at 3500RPM fan speed (65%). However, my ambient temperature is currently 40-50F (4-10C). So I have an easier time of cooling this GPU. For now at least.

Here is what I figured out:

If I set -g to 2, I can't use any Intensity over 13 or I get major HW errors. At 13 with -g 2, I get 500-550KH/s. And I can't set my Thread Concurrency over 8192 or cgminer says I am trying to use more memory than I have (it says I have 512MB and that I'm trying to use 2GB).

If I set -g to 1, I can set Intensity to 20 and get the 750KH/s I get now.

For some reason, I can't set Thread Concurrency over 30192 or my CG Miner will not start with -g at 1. Even though the 290X is the 290 with unlocked shaders (implying it should be able to go higher). Strange. Wish I could figure that out. I'd love to get 800+KH/s like some people here have with their 290's.

My Memory Clock is pushed to 1500 (max) because my GPU can handle it, and the Core Clock's max is 1080, but I see no difference in hash rate between that and 950. So why make it hotter than necessary?

Anyway, I hope that helps anyone looking for info regarding the R9 290X and cgminer & mining Litecoin or using Scrypt. If anyone has any advice regarding optimizing my 290X, I'd appreciate it.

Offline TriOx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #128 on: November 29, 2013, 09:17:21 AM »
shallowgas,

From the reviews I read about the current crop of reference cards, they are all from AMD and the vendors just put the sticker on and can tweak the bios.  So I just went for the cheapest available which was $429 for the gigabyte 290 from ncix.  That said my only other recent experience with gigabyte is a 7970 GHZ edition windforce.  Its voltage locked but still a rocket ship with the right settings on LTC.

Profits are coming fast and furious so I ordered up a Powercolor R9 290x OC (1030 mhz core) from Newegg for giggles.  Hopefully comes tomorrow and not monday.  It was also the cheapest in stock 290x I could find.  Not as good a value as the regular 290 but I'm tempted to see how it will do.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814131523

TriOx


Offline crun

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #129 on: November 29, 2013, 02:47:09 PM »
I am considering buying crossfire R9 290 mainly for mining purposes.

Why not 7950, 7970 or r9 280x? Well, I am using mining from one 7950 right now... (bought for gaming purposes)
 But it is nearly impossible to buy (even used) any of those cards... unless you are willing to pay a price nearing to R9 290.

Cheapest R9 280x (and 7950!) I found costs 400$+ right now while I can get R9 290 for less than 500$. Prices include 23% tax.

The only thing I'm afraid of are temperatures... but I want to replace my PSU and case so hopefuly it won't cook inside of it.


Offline fearisfearless

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #130 on: November 29, 2013, 04:47:58 PM »
For anyone looking for a pool, come over to coinhuntr.com  Great group of people, very helpful chat room and we have a ball!
« Last Edit: December 17, 2013, 01:50:18 AM by fearisfearless »
LTC
LcCCpMvGurTT7qvpRKvM4msDR6pyTCQJMP
BTC
15cSwhFmDTmpWM6nVCw12dLf4VZSmktevv
Doge
DSc194AepKAr5BtuDgZnoabLdYyUS8PoxC

Offline gatuso5

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #131 on: November 29, 2013, 05:12:30 PM »
With this new R9 290, there is no crossfire connections: will this be a problem for 1x to 16x raisers?

So if i understand right, for what the testing guys are experiencing, with stock voltage with best configuration on cgminer, maximum is ~750KH/s!

maybe with drivers updates this rises up  ::)
ty:LhhBTohCpm3fXH8n2o8baRi8phKJSsTKc3

Offline toaster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1119
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #132 on: November 29, 2013, 06:03:19 PM »
750 sounds really little. a 280x gets 720-730 without problem and is 100$/€ less

Offline Gaywallet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #133 on: November 29, 2013, 06:06:05 PM »
Do tell what configs they're running, I'm installing a custom water loop (its my personal build) tomorrow, so I'll probably be able to run that w/o any problems :)

This was gamers not miners, but a quick look over at overclockers or hardocp and you'll find plenty of people talking about what they managed.

Offline yellowz06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: R9 290 scrypt mining performance
« Reply #134 on: November 29, 2013, 06:09:07 PM »
Has anyone here tried to put 4 R9 290 on an AM3+ motherboard? Particularly Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD7? I am too scared to open the packaging. If I need to switch to a different chipset I will.

Why would you be worried about running 4 cards on that mobo?  I am running 3 on this one. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131795  I do not see you having any issues

I don't know some guy told me that AM3+ doesn't have the bandwidth to run the 4 x r9 290s. They will run in the following configuration x8 x8 x4 x1. So I got really confused. I actually really want to run 6 cards on that motherboard each at 825 KH/s think it's possible with powered riser cables and a 1600w PSU?

I'm running 4 rigs with the GA-990FXA-UD7 & sempron cpu with 4 x R9 290 in each rig which is enclosed in a case:)  It's pulling about 1400watts at the wall.  There is no way you can run 6 cards with 1600watt psu.